Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture Faculty and Staff

Voiland College Awards

Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture (VCEA) awards are given annually to honor those who epitomize the highest levels of excellence in the pursuit of the college’s mission and goals. Each spring we put out a call for nominations for these awards, and recipients are acknowledged during VCEA’s Convocation Award Ceremony. Convocation is typically held in mid April.

The awards include:

Anjan Bose Outstanding Researcher Award
Recognizes and rewards the top faculty researcher in the Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture.

Junior Faculty Research Award
Recognizes the research achievements of an outstanding Assistant Professor and Associate Professor who are within 10 years of receiving their Ph.D.

Outstanding Student Awards
Recognize outstanding undergraduate students (sophomore, junior, and senior) and graduate students (TA, RA) from each academic program within the departments/schools.

Reid Miller Excellence in Teaching Awards
Recognize faculty who emulate Reid Miller’s strong commitment to the quality of teaching in the college.

Staff Excellence Awards
Recognize the outstanding achievements and contributions of classified and administrative professional (AP) staff in the College.

VCEA Dissertation Award
Recognizes doctoral candidates for the quality of the dissertation and/or innovation of the research conducted.

VCEA Safety Award
Recognizes faculty, staff, or students who routinely demonstrate exemplary use of safe work practices and/or awareness of potentially unsafe situations or conditions; and assists in the prevention and/or correction of these hazardous situations.


If you have questions about the award criteria and nomination process, please email:

Haluk Beyenal – faculty, staff, safety, and dissertation awards.

Dr. Sivakumar – Reid Miller Excellence award.

Dr. Shelley Pressley – student awards.